How Does It Feel to Be an Old Lady?

This week was my twenty-sixth birthday.  I cannot believe how old I’m becoming and how quick time flies.

On top of this birthday, my little cousin who means more than anything in the world to me is turning eighteen in a few days.  I held her in my arms the day she was born.  I cannot believe that in this short amount of time, we have become adults.

This week I’ve done quite a bit of reflecting.

I’m not at all where I thought I would be at twenty-six.  I’m single, childless, I’ve decided not to work… Many people think my life is a train wreck.

Can I tell you something? My life is a beautiful mess.

Yes, I’m not the person I thought I would be if you read my five year goals at age 21… but I’m better.

While I so look forward to meeting my nuseeb (soulmate) someday soon inshaAllah and having a little Muslim family together, I have been building myself and bettering myself every day.

I’m still working on becoming the best “me” that I can be, but at age twenty-six, I’m still a work in progress.

I’ve learned to be so incredibly happy for the other people in my life that have achieved the goals that I hope to achieve soon and pray that the goals that Allah has in store for me are just as blessed.

Thanks for the birthday love from everyone.  I appreciate your prayers, well wishes, and even your concerns…

Alhamdulilah for everything that has happened to me in these past 26 years and Alhamdulilah for everything that I wanted but Allah did not give me.

5 thoughts on “How Does It Feel to Be an Old Lady?

  1. Assalaamu Alaykom Sister Hannah
    Word of advice for you do not get desperate to get married in’shaa’ALLAH because your twenty six years old. Your still young ma’shaa’ALLAH . Remember evil men prey on desperate women and vice versa. You should carefully thoroughly interrogate your future husband in’shaa’ALLAH and you should do a thorough background check online/offline on your future husband in’shaa’ALLAH. Also you should put in your Islamic marriage contract that your future husband is required to fully financial support you and all of your future kids from your future husband at all times always in’shaa’ALLAH. Also you should hire a lawyer who is an expert in prenuptial agreements in’shaa’ALLAH. In order to make sure that your prenuptial agreement contract is enforceable in a court of law in’shaa’ALLAH.

    1. wa alaykum salaam Mohammed. I hope that it was clear that the entire message is that I’m so happy where I am in life and saying I know these things come with time while I’m bettering myself… I’m not in any way desperate to get married. bel 3ks i was trying to get across the point that you can be complete within yourself. Thank you for the advice.

      1. That is good to hear that your not desperate at all in anyways whatsoever ma’shaa’ALLAH. I was not accusing you at all of being desperate. I was just talking in the future tense because Decent chaste virtuous women in general get desperate to marry when they reach thirty years old. I am sorry if I offended you in anyway whatsoever and Astaghfiru ALLAH AL-AZEEM if I indeed offended you in anyway whatsoever and for the misunderstanding.

Leave a Reply

